Home > SAFE Backup PLUS > Adding a Protected item - SAFE Backup PLUS

Adding a Protected item - SAFE Backup PLUS

When you have installed the SAFE Backup PLUS client, you will need to login with the credentials you set when you created your account. When logged in you will see the main dashboard. To add a backup select “+ Add Protected item” on the bottom left.

This opens up a window where you can set the configuration for your protected item/set. The first option is to select the type of backup, in this example we are doing a file backup, but these are your options:

When you have made your selection press "next" when ready.

The next page is where you can select the items you wish to backup. You have two tab options here, “include” will let you select everything under certain certain sections of your machine like the desktop. To do this simply select the appropriate tick box and press “next”.

However the “custom” tab allows you to be much more selective with the items you are backing up. Select the “+” symbol that is on the window that opens up, from here you can use the file tree to be as selective as you would like, right down to just selecting specific files, using the arrows to open files down and the tick boxes to select the items required. 

You can also select the whole destination and then go in and unselect certain files if you would rather do it that way.

Select “ok” when you are ready. You will then be shown a breakdown of what you have selected for the backup. If you do need to change what you have selected this can be done via the “+” button again. Press “next” when you are ready.

On the next page you will be able to add commands to run before or after the backup. Deselecting the tick on “Default (no extra commands)” will show the below “run”, “command” table, pressing the “+” opens up the “command” window where you can add the commands in. Press “ok” when done and then “next”.

The next section is adding a schedule, selecting the “+” button will allow you to add the schedule, select the frequency and time you would like it to run and add any more commands required. In this example I have sent the backup to run daily at 10.15am.

On the “time” tab, when you had added the schedule and pressed “ok” you will see a description of what you have set, you will also have the option to select the backup to run “When the PC starts”, and “When the PC starts, if the last job was Missed”. Regardless of if you would like to select either of these, press “save” when ready.

You will then be taken to the “Schedules” page again, press “next” when ready.

 

The next page is for retention. If you would like to change this from the default which is set to “keep all backups forever” select on the storage location, then the “edit” pen icon on the right. You will then get a small “retention policy” window open, select “Only Keep” and then you will need to press the “+” icon again to edit your retention range as per the options it gives you and what meets your requirements.

In this example I have set mine to keep all backups in the last 2 months. When happy with your selection press “ok”, you will then see it in your “Retention Policy” window, press “ok” again and then “next” when ready.

Setup has been completed and you now have the option to run a backup. If you do not wish to do this, simply unselect the tick box next to “Run a backup now” and press “Finish”.  

If you leave “Run a backup now” selected you will then be asked to select the set/protected item to backup – if you have more than one you can select this from the drop down – and press “next”.

You will then need to confirm the storage location – you can also add one – and press “Backup”. 

This will then take you to your main dashboard and you will see the backup running.